5 Things That Improve My Mood

IMG_3692

I let stress get to me last week, and by that Friday afternoon I was really feeling like I’d hit my limit. Thankfully I’ve (pretty much) bounced back, and here are some of the things that helped…

One: Snuggles from a lovey dovey toddler. Is there anything better?

Two: A really tasty drink to celebrate the arrival of the weekend. My current favorite is cucumber and lime flavored vodka mixed with some pineapple juice, sparkling limeade, and ginger beer. Yum!

Three: An outing with my guys. Usually weekend mornings are my one on one time with Jacob while my husband does his long work outs (the man is always training for some race, I wish I had his discipline!), but unfortunately a strained muscle kept him away from his usual run. But fortunately that meant he came along with us to the library, a place I’m pretty sure is Jacob’s new favorite because he’s spent the whole week telling us he wants to go every time we left the house to unfortunately have to go somewhere else that was much less fun, like to work or the grocery store. Definitely need to go back soon like I keep telling him we will before I turn right into a liar. πŸ™‚

Four: Making cupcakes! I thought this would be fun to do with Jacob for exactly the reason my husband accused me of – I thought cupcakes sounded good. πŸ™‚ Jacob has a dairy allergy so we used a dairy free recipe a co-worker told me about last year and I made a homemade dairy free frosting too. Maybe I’ll share that soon in case anyone else is interested?

Five: A little bit slower moving morning today because a certain little someone told me no every time I tried to get up and moving and then followed me around, hugging my legs and saying “got ya!”. Which was absolutely fine! Because the wonderful thing that is vacation days got us a 4 day weekend and as much as I love what I do, that will always improve me mood!

 

 

3 thoughts on “5 Things That Improve My Mood”

  1. That drink sounds amazing. Toddler hugs always improve my mood too! And cupcakes are nom – what is the dairy free icing? Ollie’s good with cooked dairy, but my regular frosting recipe calls for uncooked milk, so I’m curious about alternatives!

    Like

    1. It’s so good!! And for the dairy free icing, I take the recipe from this link: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/174347/quick-and-almost-professional-buttercream-icing/

      but then just use Smart Balance dairy free butter and almond milk instead of milk, same amounts the recipe calls for though. I also don’t sift my confectioners’ sugar if we’re being really specific, but that obviously is unrelated to the allergy and totally related to me being too lazy to do that. πŸ˜‰ I think it still turns out really good, and found myself snacking on the leftovers with graham crackers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

