Feeling Lately

IMG_3417

Life lately has been a lot of the daily grind on repeat. Wake up, get ready for the day, daycare drop off, work, return home for the whole dinner/bath time/play cars, chase the toddler around the house because he finds it hilarious and you’ll do anything for that laugh routine, then go to bed and do it all over again the next day. And some days that feels perfect and I find myself so emotional and grateful that this is my life, like when the toddler who loves to be chased decides to run upstairs and insists that you lay down, close your eyes and go “night night” while he runs from you, only to have your husband wander up to see what you guys are up to and it ends with the whole family snuggling up together and laughing. That’s the good stuff right there.

But then there are the days where that feeling of restlessness creeps in and leaves me feeling like it’s time for some change! And maybe that’s because it’s nearing the end of winter and we’re all craving the opportunities to get outside, realizing today that it’s been over 2 months since we’ve left the city we live in and it’s surrounding suburbs, or maybe just because I gave in today and wore my old jeans I’ve held onto that are a size bigger than what I’ve been wearing. You know the ones – we all have them, right? And if you don’t, please don’t tell me. 😉

So here we go, I’ll be on a quest to figure out how the heck to snap out of it. Maybe I need more time to myself, to start working out again, maybe a wardrobe refresh like Anne? 🙂 Or maybe I just need to get out of my own head a bit! How about you? Any tried and true tricks you have when you just need to get yourself out of a rut?

5 thoughts on “Feeling Lately”

  1. Two things that I find work the best are

    1: dressing your best. Try to dress out together and look great daily and will feel motivated and ready to go each day. I feel like whenever I just throw whatever on I feel lazier they day, but when I throw in say a button down shirt with my jeans and put some dress shoes with it even if it’s just a causal look like that I feel amazing and more confident and ready to tackle the day. I sometimes feel like America is getting lazy with dressing with all the athleasire wear and sweats for causal wear. So maybe you can update your casual looks to include cute jeans with heels or a cute flat with jeans and a blazer or just mix it up a lot more and experiment more with your work clothes besides all black.

    2: I try to change up my routine st least once every two weeks to keep things fresh. Try something new every so often do you don’t get bored

    Like

  2. I’m SO with you right now. I can’t figure out what it is exactly. I think I need a wardrobe refresh too. And I also have had to reach for the larger size pants. I’ve also been trying to shake up my reading choices a bit and that has helped as well.

    Like

  3. I know what you mean, I think it’s the time of year – I’m ready for longer days and spring weather for sure! For me taking time (even just a little) for myself is so helpful to get me in a better frame of mind. I listen to podcasts in the morning when I’m getting ready (if the kids are still sleeping, which isn’t every day) and I always read at night before going to sleep. Those little things may not seem like much, but I notice that I’m so much happier when I’m able to do them.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Currently

Leave a Reply

