Currently

Late to the party this week, but linking up once again for Currently this month – my favorite link up out there!

IMG_0042
Gathering

I’m so thankful that my family and my husbands’ family only live 40 minutes apart, which really feels like nothing once you’re up in the pretty rural parts of northwest Ohio we both claim. This means we can make it to see everyone all in one weekend, getting the best of both worlds and enjoying the almost 40 person crazy but so much fun gathering for Christmas at my husband’s Grandma’s house and the 7 person one at my parents’ house that’s much quieter but gives me just the calm time I need by then (they’re always the second stop of the trip) to spend time with my favorite people.

Making

A bullet journal! I feel like this is just another thing I’m late to the party on, but I’m hoping this will finally solve the issue of me always buying a pretty new planner and then never really using it. Although I just had two things I wanted to write down this morning and can’t find it, so clearly I’m off to a great start. I’m hoping it’s hanging out on my desk at work! But I found Kendra’s posts about it really helpful (here and here) and I plan to follow her advice of keeping it simple and not getting caught up in this picture perfect idea.

IMG_0364

Sipping

Ever since my round of bronchitis in the fall I’ve been in constant possession of a cup of hot water with lemon and honey throughout the work day. I’m not as good about it at home on the weekends but hey, 5 out of 7 days isn’t bad right? My new addition is a cinnamon stick based on a co-workers recommendation and that is good stuff my friend.

FullSizeRender (73)

Following

I’ll actually be following along with The Bachelor this time around. It’s been years since I’ve paid any attention to it and was never really into it, but a co-worker talked me into following the craziness that was Bachelor in Paradise and now there’s a group doing a bracket for The Bachelor, so how could I not join in the fun?!

Resolving

To be more present, with my specific action step to be to put my phone down when I first get home. My husband and I are both introverts (just the trait probably shows itself a little differently for each of us) and after a long day of talking to people, I pretty often come home and willingly get sucked into playing on my phone. My husband isn’t super talkative by nature, but I’ve noticed over the past month or so that the time right when I walk in the door from work and during dinner (which happens about 2 minutes after I walk in the door typically) is when we have the most meaningful chats. Nothing major, just run of the mill about our day type of stuff but I’ve realized I need to take advantage of that time and put down the phone just enjoy that time with my family so I’m resolving to do a much better job with that in the new year.

4 thoughts on “Currently”

  1. Same introvert issue here! We both gravitate to solo time after the demands of the day, but it’s important to do together time as well… good resolution. And I’m late to the party on bullet journaling too, but the lists (and, let’s face it, colored pens) sound so appealing.

    Like

  2. You’re late to the link up and I’m late to visiting people from the link up!

    These bullet journals are all the rage! If I thought I could remember anything these days (sleep deprivation is setting in here) , I’d figure out what they are and how to do them!

    Like

    1. Haha then I think you and I are on the same page Cara! Yes, I completely agree that these bullet journals feel like something that all of a sudden are wildly popular. I’d love to figure out how to make them as pretty as some of the ones I’ve seen online, but really it’s just serving as my memory currently. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

