Things I Can Accomplish When I Don’t Work for a Week

IMG_8478

I took all of last week off work because it was the week of Jacob’s birthday and I hadn’t taken a week straight of vacation time since last year for his birthday so I felt like I was long overdue. Long weekends are nice and all but I think every once in awhile it takes a full week of disconnecting to come back feeling refreshed. The jury is still out on whether I feel refreshed, but back to it I have to go anyway!

We had no plans to leave town the whole week so I had been adding to what I refer to as my adulting to do list for a few weeks, but really wouldn’t have felt one bit guilty if the only thing I accomplished all week was having fun with my guys. I’m happy to be able to report that I made it about halfway through my adulting to do list with things like getting Jacob’s 2 year well check appointment in, getting an oil change for my car, and finally dropping off the car load of stuff at Goodwill that I’d been driving around with for a week. For fun though, here are a few things I’m proud of accomplishing that weren’t a part of the list!

1. Bake a cake. I don’t really enjoy baking but the bug bit me for Jacob’s birthday. The recipe was easy (important for my skill level) and allergy friendly – I’ll share it soon!

2. Watch the entire season of Stranger Things. I’d been wanting to watch the Netflix series for awhile but the whole work and not being able to stay awake past 9:30pm deal made that difficult. On the days my husband took off work too, this is how we spent Jacob’s naptime. Feeling late to the party, but glad we finally got to watch it. Weird show, but that’s the point so if that’s your thing then I’d recommend it. My husband described it as a combination of X-Files and ET which is probably pretty accurate!

3. Learn how to work the Roku. I’ll admit that I’m one of those moms who thought she wouldn’t rely on screen time, but with a busy toddler I just find myself giving into it especially in the mornings when I just want to move slowly and drink my coffee in peace. Plus it increases the chances that he’ll curl up with me. 😉 So last week I finally learned how to use the Roku remote to turn on his beloved choo-choos (Chuggington) before we’d get ready to get out of the house and go do something fun.

4. Paint my nails on only one hand – true story. But don’t worry, it’s just clear nail strengthener. I finally took off my chipped nail polish and decided to give my nails a bit of a break with just some nail strengthener. I made it through one hand during bathtime and then just never made it back to the other one which is probably a whole new special kind of lazy, even for me.

5. Have enough energy to stay up past my no later than 10pm bedtime. The work week grind had been leaving me ready to throw in the towel and head to bed by around 9:30 each night, and while usually keeping up with an active toddler is more physically exhausting I found myself willing and able to stay up and it became a regular thing to stay up later (for me, we’re still talking in bed by 11 most nights here!). Positives of that include more quality time together. Negatives include that if I don’t revert right back that I will probably be hurting this week!

6. Took a 5 minute nap. I’ve never been much of a napper, not even back in college. I feel like my approach is usually just once I’m up, I’m up for the day and I’d rather just go to bed earlier that night. But on my last vacation day of the week I decided to drift off while Jacob was taking his nap, only to be startled awake from the sound of a kid crying on a commercial thinking it was him. Still a win in my book.

Leave a Reply

