Race Day

 

IMG_6460
Oh goodness, that face!It’s been a little over a week now since my husband did the half Ironman race in Delaware, Ohio (1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike, then 13.1 mile run) and I really wanted to post about it last week, but sickness plus maybe teething took over our house which meant a severe lack of sleep. So survival mode it was. This wasn’t the first one he’s done, but it was the first one that was close enough to not require a road trip and for that I was thankful. It was so nice to sleep in our bed and to be able to be home in less than an hour! The only little bit of drama associated with this race was the tornado (small thankfully) that touched down the night before at the state park where the race started and where our family was camping. A few uprooted trees and everyone and everything else was fine!

I’ll admit that I have a little bit of a love/hate relationship with my husband’s hobby of distance races and the training that comes along with it. It’s kind of annoying to have all of your weekend plans from maybe about April through October revolve around what the training schedule looks like, and the training rides and runs can take up a lot of time when it’s the peak of training. But I’ve learned to use that time to do something for myself too and save the chores for later when we’re both home. Sure I have my little toddler side kick, but we’ve gone for walks that end in a coffee shop visit, a trip to a farmer’s market, the library, and sometimes just a slow morning at home knowing that I have full control of the tv remote. 😉 It’s just what my little introvert heart needs!

My favorite part though is seeing someone you’re close to accomplish a goal like this because you see the work and the dedication that goes into preparing for it. As they were getting to start my husbands’ wave of the swim, I looked over and saw a woman watching the group enter the water and she had tears in her eyes. And yes I’m off the charts sentimental and my husband would probably roll his eyes at me, but I totally teared up when he did his first triathlon and was damn close to it this time too!

So here’s a little video created out of cell phone pictures and video to show you what race day looks like for us, minus the parts where I had to chase a toddler out of the parking lot 15 times, try unsuccessfully to get him from napping in his stroller to napping in the car, and then drive around aimlessly in neighborhoods surrounding the finish line just trying to find a parking spot… 😉

Ironman 70.3 – Delaware, OH from Jess L. on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

